Star 101.5

Alice Cooper-led supergroup the Hollywood Vampires' second album, "Rise," due in June; band releases new song

Alice Cooper-led supergroup the Hollywood Vampires' second album, "Rise," due in June; band releases new song

earMUSICThe Hollywood Vampires, the supergroup featuring Alice Cooper, Aerosmith guitarist Joe Perry and actor/rocker Johnny Depp, will release their sophomore album, Rise, on June 21.

Unlike the band’s star-studded self-titled 2015 debut, the new record features mostly new original songs, along with select cover tunes by three dearly departed rock artists.

The covers are David Bowie‘s “Heroes,” which is sung by Depp; the Jim Carroll Band‘s “People Who Died,” featuring Cooper on lead vocals; and Johnny Thunders‘ “You Can’t Put Your Arms Around a Memory,” sung by Perry.

In advance of Rise‘s arrival, the Hollywood Vampires have released the track “Who’s Sorry Now” as a digital single and via streaming services. You also can check out a lyric video for the hard-rocking track, which boasts a sinister-sounding guitar riff, at the earMUSIC label’s YouTube channel.

Another song on Rise, “Welcome to Bushwackers,” features guest appearances by U.K. guitar legend Jeff Beck and lauded cult-film director John Waters.

The album was co-produced by Cooper, Perry and Depp, along with Tommy Henriksen, who plays guitar in Alice’s solo band.

“Rise is not only a totally different animal than the first Vampires album, it is unique to anything I’ve ever been a part of,” says Cooper. “I approached it very differently than I usually do when working on an album. Each of us — Joe, Johnny, Tommy, and myself — have written songs on this album…I think that with this album, we are establishing what the Vampires’ sound really is.”

Adds Perry, “[Rise] is one of the freest and most honest sounding records I’ve been part of.”

As previously reported, the Hollywood Vampires will launch a seven-show of the Western U.S. on May 10 in Las Vegas. Here are all of the dates:

5/10 — Las Vegas, NV, The Joint
5/11 — Los Angeles, CA, The Greek
5/12 — San Francisco, CA, Warfield Theatre
5/14 — Denver, CO, The Fillmore
5/16 — Albuquerque, NM, Sandia Casino
5/17 — Scottsdale, AZ, Talking Stick Casino
5/18 — Indio, CA, Fantasy Springs Casino

And here’s the full Rise track list:

“I Want My Now”
“Good People Are Hard to Find”
“Who’s Laughing Now”
“How the Glass Fell”
“The Boogieman Surprise”
“Welcome to Bushwackers” — featuring Jeff Beck and John Waters
“The Wrong Bandage”
“You Can’t Put Your Arms Around a Memory”
“Git from Round Me”
“A Pitiful Beauty”
“New Threat”
“Mr. Spider”
“We Gotta Rise”
“People Who Died”

Copyright © 2019, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.

Related posts

Bryan Adams says he duetted with J-Lo because he wanted "a woman who had been through a little bit"

Star 101.5

Management contract that the original Beatles lineup signed with Brian Epstein to be auctioned in July

Star 101.5

Michael Jackson stage musical, "Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough," cancels pre-Broadway run

Star 101.5