Star 101.5

Simple Minds to mark 40th anniversary with career-spanning new compilation, '40: The Best Of'

Simple Minds to mark 40th anniversary with career-spanning new compilation, '40: The Best Of'

UMeSimple Minds are celebrating their 40th anniversary this year, and to make sure fans don’t forget about them, the Scottish new wave veterans will release a new compilation titled 40: The Best Of — 1979-2019 on November 1.

The album will be available as a 40-track three-CD set and deluxe digital collection, and an as an 18-track single CD, two-LP colored-vinyl set and standard digital download. 40: The Best Of will include songs that span the band’s career from its early experimental recordings through its commercial heyday during the 1980s to songs from its latest studio album, 2018’s Walk Between Worlds.

The retrospective also will feature one brand-new tune — a cover of “For One Night Only,” a 2014 song by Scottish indie-rock singer/songwriter King Creosote.

Among the many well-known Simple Minds songs on 40 are the band’s 1985 chart-topping smash “Don’t You (Forget About Me),” the follow-up hits “Alive and Kicking,” “Sanctify Yourself” and
“All the Things She Said”; and such early alt-rock gems as “Promised You a Miracle,” “Glittering Prize,” “Waterfront,” “Speed Your Love to Me” and “Up on the Catwalk.”

Fans who pre-order 40: The Best Of will receive an instant free download of “For One Night Only,” and you also can check out a video for the track at Simple Minds’ official YouTube channel. The clip features a montage of snippets from various promo videos by the group.

Here’s the track list for the three-CD and digital versions of 40: The Best Of:

Disc One

“Love Song”*
“I Travel”*
“Glittering Prize”*
“Sense of Discovery”*
“The American”
“Up on the Catwalk”
“She’s a River”
“Someone Somewhere in Summertime”*
“See the Lights”*
“Jeweller to the Stars”
“War Babies”
“Belfast Child”*

Disc Two

“Promised You a Miracle”*
“This Is Your Land”
“Honest Town”*
“Glittering Prize” (Acoustic)
“Waterfront” (Acoustic)
“See the Lights” (Acoustic)
“Let There Be Love”
“New Gold Dream (81, 82, 83, 84)”
“All the Things She Said”
“Once Upon a Time”
“Don’t You (Forget About Me)”*

Disc Three

“Chelsea Girl”*
“Stars Will Lead the Way”*
“For One Night Only”*+
“Theme for Great Cities”
“Life in a Day”
“Sanctify Yourself”*
“Mandela Day”*
“Speed Your Love to Me”
“Alive and Kicking”*

+ = new track
* = also featured on single-CD and two-LP versions.

Copyright © 2019, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Related posts

1998 Rolling Stones concert in Argentina featuring appearance by Bob Dylan to be released on audio and video

Star 101.5

New Neil Young & Crazy Horse documentary, 'Mountaintop,' getting one-night-only screening on October 22

Star 101.5

Robby Krieger, David Crosby taking part in WeedCon Wonderland cannabis industry conference this month

Star 101.5